Since 1972, Black Feather has introduced thousands of paddlers to the fun and excitement of whitewater canoeing. We primarily teach a style of paddling designed to let you safely descend rapids in a loaded, tandem, tripping canoe. We’ll also try out a few more adventurous moves, just for fun. With whitewater skills, a whole new world of wilderness travel is open to you.

Black Feather’s “Whitewater Canoeing” weekend is the perfect opportunity for you to learn the paddling skills and safety techniques you will need to enjoy our wilderness rivers. In 2024 we will also offer several of our clinics in a 3-day format, to allow for additional time on the water. Both formats are designed to provide excellent instruction in a relaxed and enjoyable setting at Palmer Rapids on the Madawaska River. Beginners, novices as well as those with more experience will all get the chance to develop their skills on this action-packed weekend.

Want to Learn More?

Click here to access a detailed trip package with an itinerary and a full list of inclusions and exclusions for our 2 day clinic, and for more information about our 3 day clinic, click here. To access a recommended packing list, click here.

Dates, Rates & Availability

Prices listed are per person. All trips listed are tentative until confirmed by the Black Feather Office. Click here for our booking, payment and cancellation policies. Please contact us to be put onto a waiting list if your desired trip is full.

Dates Trip Fee Availability
Fri. May 24 - Sun. May 26, 2024 $825 CAD 3 day clinic* Book Now
Sat. June 1 - Sun. June 2, 2024 $725 CAD 2 day clinic* Book Now
Fri. June 14 - Sun. June 16, 2024 $825 CAD 3 day clinic* Book Now
Sat. June 29 - Sun. June 30, 2024 $725 CAD 2 day clinic* Book Now
Fri. May 23 - Sun. May 25, 2025 $825 CAD 3 day clinic* Book Now
Fri. June 13 - Sun. June 15, 2025 $825 CAD 3 day clinic* Book Now
Sat. May 31 - Sun. June 1, 2025 $725 CAD 2 day clinic* Book Now
Sat. June 21 - Sun. June 22, 2025 $725 CAD 2 day clinic* Book Now
Sat. June 28 - Sun. June 29, 2025 $725 CAD 2 day clinic* Book Now

Whitewater Paddling Clinic with Black Feather

What's included

Map

Instructors

  • 4:1 ratio
Equipment

Paddling & Camping Equipment

  • whitewater canoes, throw lines, and other safety accessories
  • paddles, paddling helmets, PFDs (you may bring your own)
  • “kitchen”: tarp, fire box, cooking stoves, utensils, dishes, etc.
Meals

Meals

  • 2 Day Clinic
    • BBQ Dinner on Saturday
  • 3 Day Clinic
    • Lunch & Dinner on Friday
    • BBQ Dinner on Saturday
Camping

Camping Fees

  • 2 Day Clinic
    • Day Use & Camping Fees for Saturday & Sunday
  • 3 Day Clinic
    • Day Use & Camping Fees from  Friday to Sunday
Map

Transportation

  • guides, group gear, canoes, and equipment to and from the clinic location
Safety

Safety Equipment

  • first aid, safety, river rescue, and repair kits
  • communications equipment (satellite phone)